At a networking event, a real estate lawyer and another person were talking.

“I was thinking about investing in homes in foreclosure or underwater with their mortgage … you know; try to figure out a way to make some money out of this tough economic environment.”

The attorney responded, “The problem is …” and proceeded to put the person to whom he was talking to asleep with an astute legal description of all the associated legal issues.

I inserted myself into the conversation and asked the real estate lawyer if he knew of a realtor who would know how to help a client navigate these difficult waters.

“Oh, sure,” he said.

“Who is it?”

He told me.

Being as that we were in a networking situation and they know me as a coach, I asked them if they minded if I rewound their conversation and demonstrated what a good networking conversation would look like.  They agreed.

So, the first guy repeated what he was looking for.

I pretended to be the lawyer and said, “I know a great real estate agent that can help you with that, would you like to talk with him/her?”

That is a conversation that might actually result in business which is the business of networking.  Networking and whatever you do for a living are two different skills.  When entering a networking environment, remember, this is not the place to demonstrate everything you know, but rather, the place to connect and help other do the same.

Coach Chuck

chuck@businesscoachchuck.com

www.businesscoachchuck.com